Please confirm your age.

I am 21 years of age or older and live in a US state or foreign country where medical or recreational marijuana is legal. I waive all claims which might arise from my use of this website and release any person or entity connected with this website of any liability.

Utah’s Medical Marijuana program is governed by a strict set of rules. For example, state law limits the amount of product you can purchase and/or possess during any given 30-day period. No such rules exist for over-the-counter (OTC) medications. You can buy and possess as much ibuprofen as you want, for instance.

What may be perceived as a disparity really isn’t. What we are talking about is the difference between OTC and prescription medication. All prescription medications are restricted. Why? Because prescription medications come with significant risks best managed by a medical professional.

The purchase and possession rules in Utah cover three areas:

  • Unprocessed cannabis flower
  • Total composite THC
  • Registered CBD products

We have put together a brief description of the rules below. If you ever have any questions, you can consult the state’s Medical Marijuana website or ask one of the professionals at your local pharmacy.

Unprocessed Cannabis Flower

What the state refers to as “unprocessed cannabis flower” is essentially that part of the marijuana plant you would use medicinally. You would dry heat it with a vaping device or grind it up and use it to make your own edibles at home.

State law allows patients to buy and possess no more than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis flower during a 30-day period. They frame this rule by saying that patients may not possess or purchase more unprocessed flower than is required for 30 days of treatment. They cap the amount at 113 grams.

Total Composite THC

Not all patients medicate using unprocessed flower. In fact, many prefer things like vape pens and gummies. All of those other marijuana-derived medicines contain THC. That is where the rules on total composite THC come into play.

Again, patients are allowed to buy or possess no more than is necessary for 30 days of treatment. The state’s total composite THC is capped at 20 grams every 30 days. The hard cap applies to all delivery methods and dosage options.

Registered CBD Products

Finally, the state draws a distinction between CBD and THC products. Both cannabinoids have medical value, so it wouldn’t be unusual for you to purchase a CBD medicine for one need and a THC medicine for something else.

It is important to note that industrial hemp and CBD are completely legal and unlimited across the country. That’s why you can buy CBD health products just about anywhere. However, from a medical standpoint, Utah law requires that CBD-derived medicines contain less than 0.3% THC. Such medications also have to be registered with the state Department of Agriculture and Food.

The good news is that there are no limits on the amount of CBD you can purchase and possess. As long as what you buy is registered with the state and contains less than 0.3% THC, you are good to go.

Buy Your Medicine in the State

We also wanted to remind you that the rules about out-of-state purchases changed as of July 1, 2021. Previously, the state looked the other way when Medical Marijuana users bought their medicine in neighboring states. That no longer applies. Now, all THC products used in the state must be purchased from state-licensed pharmacies.

Now you know why your local pharmacy limits how much product you can buy at any one time. They are not allowed to sell you more than 113 grams of unprocessed marijuana flower or 20 grams of total composite THC. If you need more than that to make it through 30 days, speak with you QMP and see if there is another way to treat your symptoms.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us For More Information

Call us at:

(801) 851-5554

or fill in the fields below and we’ll contact you.